top of page
  • Writer's pictureJames D Turnage

Grow360 - Coding Activities for the Non-Techy Teacher


On February 15th, 2019, Clear Creek ISD hosted a district wide professional development day at my home campus, Clear Falls High School. I had the great privilege of being able to lead a couple of professional development sessions that were focused on bringing simple coding activities, both online and off, into the core classrooms, regardless of grade level.

I really enjoyed being able to share my content knowledge on Coding Activities for the Non-Techy Teacher with my fellow peers and I am grateful for those that attended. I loved being able to watch them begin to understand coding at its simplest level in the form of a game known as Lightbot. Lighbot is a game that I have all of my classes play at the very beginning of the school year. The purpose of Lightbot is to introduce basic coding concepts before digging into the finer details of programming.

Beyond the sessions I led, I was able to learn from my peers about a few other topics, including:

GIMKIT - a competitive alternative to other online quiz games.

Sphero EDU - a programmable robot ball

Leading with your eyes open - A look into how our leadership is based on our perception.

Each of these topics were great to learn about and I am thankful for my peers that led these sessions.

I look forward to the next Grow360 day!

3 views0 comments
bottom of page