top of page
  • Writer's pictureJames D Turnage

High School Student Led Hour of Code Session!?





It has been far too long since I last made a blog post. I thought to myself, what better way to get started back up than with the initiative that I have pushed for since the end of the last school year.


I have been pushing for the growth of Computer Science at Clear Falls since I started in the role at the beginning of August 2018. Though I did see growth after just one year of teaching Computer Science, I sought to promote further. This time, I would focus on the younger grades. Therefore, I proposed the idea of hosting a student led hour of code session at Bayside Intermediate. I called it...Village Computer Science Hour!


The overall goal of this initiative is:

To promote Computer Science to all grade levels in the Education Village through a series of high school student-led “Hour of Code” sessions at the middle (Bayside) and elementary (Mossman) campuses.


Thus far, we have been fortunate to partner up with the 8th grade robotics class. We have had several successful sessions and my students are excited to keep pushing forward with them. By the end of the semester, we are hoping to get the 6th and 7th graders also plugged in. Our long-term goal is to get the elementary campus plugged in.


I am proud of what my students have accomplished so far. I am also overly grateful for all of the administrative support in pushing this initiative forward! I look forward to continuing to bring Computer Science to all grade levels.




 
31 views2 comments
bottom of page